First Edition: Little bit of everything!

Welcome welcome to an experiment of epic proportions. Let’s break the ice with a little bit of get to know each other! My name is Val, I cook, garden, read, watch movies and play lots of video games. Some people may say I play too much, but that’s a discussion for another day. Today is all about starting something new, my own little corner of internet dedicated to everything I enjoy. Hopefully, I find some people out there who have similar likes.

Purpose! Share recipes, discuss movies and books, brag about my video gaming

How often! To start we’ll aim for twice a week

So what are we going have to start?

My boyfriend’s mother is quite the lady. Her little boy moved way far away to be with me and as a result, she sends recipes monthly to make sure he’s well fed. For Christmas she sent a lasagna pan with her signature recipe (to be shared at a later date) which is to die for. Today I’m trying out one of her super easy recipes called American Chop Suey. Noodles, beef and tomato sauce, I’m not sure how it could go wrong.

This is also a one-pot wonder which makes me do a happy dance. Who likes doing dishes? Not me.

American ChopSuey

1lb ground beef

1 medium onion chopped (yellow or sweet)

1 package pasta (shells or macaroni)

2 cans tomato soup

Salt

Pepper

Oil (vegetable or olive)

In a large pot, boil water with some salt and add in pasta to cook as directed on the package. When done, drain and leave pasta in the colander. Rinse the pot to get rid of starch and reduce heat to medium, medium-high. Return pot to stove, add in about 1 tablespoon of oil and sauté onion until soft. Add in ground beef and cook until there is no more pink. Salt and pepper the onion-beef mixture. Mix in both cans of tomato soup with about half of a can of water. Let simmer for a minute then mix pasta in and serve hot.

Turns out pretty tasty despite simple ingredients. It’s great if you have a picky eater in the house like my boy. If you want a leaner version I bet you could easily substitute ground turkey or chicken. You could also sprinkle some parmesan on there and complete the package.

I’d include a picture here but in a cat related accident my camera no longer turns on. So pictures are to be coming at a later date when funds allow a new one to be purchased!

For the final thought in today’s awesome ground breaking first blog post we turn to the movies.

GO. SEE. THOR.

Thor Movie Poster

Thor courtesy of moviephotogallery.com

It’s just fantastic. Very well adapted, has some good Norse lore and continues the line of movies marching towards The Avengers! Be sure to stay after the end credits for an interesting Stinger that makes me anxious for the next installment. Soon to join the profitable and surprisingly well done (so far) movies is Captain America. If you listen closely in the preview for it, you’ll catch that it’s Mr. Stark (Ironman’s dad) who is part of the team making Captain America. Go back and watch Ironman 2, there’s a Capt America shield he pulls out of a box. And this ends the omg comic movies done well cheer.

In case you wonder about the picture at the top of the lake, it’s my favorite place ever- a little lake in Minnesota where my great-grandparents lived.

Until next time, keep leveling your cooking.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

