Smothered Pork Chops

Our road trip went quite well. We saw some boring countryside, a pretty river, lots of trucks and plenty of cows, horses, sheep and fields. Totally exciting, you’re jealous I know. But my boy’s interview went well and we eagerly await a response.

 

While waiting I came across two awesome deals offered by Borders Perks- two movie tickets for $9 and a $25 gift card to a restaurant for $3. Of course I jumped at the chance so now we have a great evening lined up for my Saturday birthday. I’m excited to see X-Men First Class, the actors for Magneto and Xavier are some of my favorite. Afterwards (or before) we’re also going to try out a local tavern that serves Kobe beef! Hopefully it will be incredibly delectable.

 

Next post, look for reviews on the tavern and movie! But as for this post, I found some nice little shortcuts to work with this eating plan I’m on. I realized that fully cutting out salt and oil is pretty difficult. Instead I am severely limiting them which is working out so far. Also, things like Lean Cuisine and Healthy Choice frozen dinners are unexpectedly decent enough to fit into this eating plan.

 

Tonight I stood there with the freezer open, digging through all my bags of veggies, frozen dinners and popsicles trying to find chicken breasts that I swore I still had. Alas, they had been eaten up without my realizing. Plan B were some pork chops. Taking a look in the fridge there were mushrooms that needed using. After some recipe scouring it dawned on me that creating a new recipe was in order. Thankfully, it came out pretty good!

 

 

Val’s Smothered Pork Chops

 

4-6 pork chops trimmed

1 can cream of mushroom soup

2 cups sliced mushrooms

2 cups frozen broccoli

½ cup water

Pepper to taste

 

Optional: ¼ cup cornstarch

 

Side: rice prepared according to directions

 

 

Place the pork chops in your slow cooker and season with pepper. Layer the mushrooms and broccoli on top of the chops. Spread the mushroom soup over top of the veggies then add the water.

 

Set your slow cooker to high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours. Once done, take the pork chops out. You can add about ¼ cup cornstarch at this point to thicken the soup into gravy if desired. Serve over rice with veggies and gravy.

 

 

 

And that’s it. Surprisingly tasty and amazingly easy, just how I like it. Not to mention the clean-up is a snap. One pot meals are definitely a favorite of mine. More to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

