Crepes!

I must apologize for the severe lack in posting. It has been a bit of  a whirlwind since I was accepted into a Master’s degree program back east. Since then I’ve gone on 3 separate trips that left me with an utter loathing for airlines. Between the miniscule seats, terrible customer service, long flights and endless delays, I’m happy that my boy and I are road tripping back east for school. Right now out apartment is an assortment of boxes and piles to be packed.

It was very sad as all my kitchen stuff got boxed up yesterday, I’m left with a few utensils, one glass 8×8 and 2 bowls. On the bright side, we had one last hurrah of me cooking and my boy and neighbor eating. While using StumbleUpon, I happened onto a recipe for Crepes that would magically use many of the ingredients leftover in my fridge. It totally saved me from part of guilt trip over throwing out perfectly good food. Most of my cupboard went to the local Food Bank but some of it, being opened, partially used or what have you cannot be donated. I’m thinking I need to have locals over for grocery shopping in my fridge…

Anyway! Crepes! Usually I look at crepes and think I could never manage such a delicate creation, but with the recipe I found it was quite easy. The hardest part was deciding what to do for fillings. Scavenging my cabinets netted us peaches, frozen berries, butterscotch ganache (leftover from making butterbeer cupcakes, another blog for a different day), ham, cheese and whip cream. We had savory crepes with ham and cheese, sweet ones with peaches and butterscotch, berries and strawberry sauce… It’s fun to make your own! This would be a great brunch idea if you had company over! And chances are you have all the ingredients necessary! No, you don’t need any special equipment either, just a medium or large pan, a spatula and appetite.

 

Easy Crepes

(adapted from Food for my family)

1cup water

1 1/2 cup milk

2cup flour

5 eggs

6tbl melted butter

1/4 tsp salt

 

Keep the rest of the butter for frying. Combine all the ingredients in a blender and let it rip until frothy. Check the sides and scrape down as needed then continue to blend until well mixed. Chill the batter for at least 1 hr but no more than overnight. You can certainly make ahead the night before, just be sure to use it the next day!

Heat a sloped sided pan to medium/medium-high and melt some butter in it. Soon as the butter is melted fully, pour in 1 to 2 ounces of batter and swirl the pan around so it coats the entire bottom. I found that a large serving spoon held just over 1 oz and it was perfect for my medium sized pan. Let fry for about 45seconds then flip carefully. If you have trouble getting under the crepe, run your spatula around the sides, lifting it up just a bit to loosen it all the way around. Many times I found you could slide the crepe around in the pan to give you more room to maneuver underneath. Fry the other side for about 10 to 15seconds.

Add butter occasionally to keep them sliding off nicely. This recipe makes about 25 crepes if doing a little over 1 oz of batter each time. Serve with accompanying sides!

 

Strawberry Sauce

1 cup frozen or fresh strawberries

2 tbl orange juice or orange liquer

2 tbl sugar

1/4 c strawberry or raspberry jam/jelly

 

Using a blender or food processor, puree the strawberries and juice until smooth. In a pot over medium-high heat combine the puree, sugar and jam or jelly until it starts bubbling. Let simmer for about 5 minutes. The sauce will thicken as it cools.

 

Butterscotch Ganache

1 cup heavy cream

16oz bag of butterscotch chips

 

Bring about 2 inches of water to a boil in a pot. Place a glass or non-melty bowl over the boiling water. Combine the cream and chips, stir until everything is melted and smooth. The ganache will thicken upon cooling. Store in the fridge, it will keep for several days.

 

These crepes are just awesome, creamy and delicious. They pair well with sweet or savory fillings. You could always make a hollandaise or bechemel sauce to go with a chicken, mushroom or veggie filling. Maybe make a quick caramel sauce to go with fruit. Have any canned or frozen fruit sitting around? This is a great way to make use of them!  Or just dust one with some powdered sugar and enjoy it simple style. Get creative! Have some friends over and make it a crepe bar with all sorts of combinations, you’ll have them thinking you’re an amazing chef.

 

Well, that’s all for now. Our road trip back east starts Monday so there’s likely going to be another long break before the next post. Hopefully we have an apartment waiting for us so I can get straight back into cooking!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

